SummitSkills’ core role as an Standard Setting Organisation is to work with employers to define the standards expected of those working in the sector.

The qualifications used by our industry are an important part of this picture – here’s an overview of what SummitSkills does to ensure the qualifications are fit-for-purpose:

  • National Occupational Standards (NOS) are the building blocks of all qualifications and training across the sector – we develop NOS in conjunction with the industry – read more in our NOS section.
  • Using these NOS as the starting point, we develop units and Qualification ROC (Rules of Combination) in line with the QCF (Qualification Credit Framework) and SCQF (Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework) requirements, defining the Learning Outcomes and Assessment Criteria that will be needed as part of a qualification to confirm competence.
  • In order for these units to be useful to the sector, we work with Awarding Organisations such as BPEC, City & Guilds and EAL to ensure the scope and range required can be suitably delivered and assessed. We also work with Competent Persons Schemes to enable formal recognition of these qualifications in the workplace.
  • We then develop Apprenticeship Frameworks, which include the core qualifications needed for competence as well as CPD (Continuing Professional Development) qualifications, where specialisms exist.
  • Finally, we are the sole provider of Apprenticeship Certificates for our sector and are licensed to carry out a checking service to establish whether someone has met all of the requirements of an apprenticeship before issuing their provider with an apprentice completion certificate.

Qualifications Projects…

Trailblazer Apprenticeships – in England: in light of the new Trailblazer standards being developed, the qualifications associated with the current apprenticeship framework are likely to be reviewed and SummitSkills will be supporting the industry with this work.

Scotland SVQs: linked to our Modern Apprenticeship review work, we are currently reviewing the sector’s SVQs. The qualifications/modern apprenticeships under review are:

  • Level 2 and 3 in Heating and Ventilating
  • Level 2 and 3 in Refrigeration and Air Conditioning
  • Level 3 Plumbing and Heating (Domestic)
  • Level 3 Electrical Installation

We are also mandated by competent persons schemes such as MCS (Microgeneration Certification Scheme) to review qualifications that are delivered by organisations outside of the QCF network. We review the Quality Standards and assessment methodologies of these organisations, such as HETAS and NICEIC, to ensure the assessments the carry out meet or exceed the minimum standards defined by our ROCs. Upon our recommendation, MCS will then accept these qualifications as meeting their competence scheme requirements.

Have your say and Contribute to the Sector’s Skills Development
Apprenticeship Completion