The Alliance of Sector Skills Councils

Awarding Bodies

Awarding bodies develop qualifications, based on national occupational standards and ensure the assessments are carried out in line with the national assessment strategy. They approve assessment centres and send out external verifiers to ensure that all candidates are assessed fairly and consistently.

In the UK, the awarding bodies are regulated by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) and the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) to ensure quality in assessment.

A number of awarding Organisations create qualifications using our standards and structures. A definitive list all QCF qualifications can be found on the Ofqual Register but the following are examples of awarding bodies for building services engineering NVQ Diplomas:

  • bpec
  • City & Guilds
  • EAL
  • Edexcel
  • Lantra Awards

In Scotland - the Scottish Qualifications Authority is the major awarding body.

Awarding bodies generally work with industry partners including SummitSkills, in the design and development of qualifications.

Contact the relevant awarding body for any issues relating to:

  • quality assurance
  • qualification assessment issues
  • assessor and verifier qualifications
  • assessor continual professional development
  • centre verification and approval
  • candidate registration issues
Get involved
Register now
Certification Request Forms