The Alliance of Sector Skills Councils

SummitSkills Awards for Excellence 2011 - the results

10 Oct 2011

On Friday 7 October 2011, SummitSkills recognised the talent and exceptional standards of work of employees in the building services engineering sector through its annual Awards for Excellence (formerly the National Training Awards).

This year SummitSkills was proud to hold its awards at the WorldSkills London 2011 event, the biggest skills competition in the world, attracting some 150,000 visitors and 1,000 talented young competitors from 51 countries around the world. SummitSkills is a strong supporter of WorldSkills, as it drives high standards and the skills development needed to ensure the future success of the sector. 

Keith Marshall OBE, chief executive, SummitSkills, commented: “Circumstances continue to be challenging for the sector and we were thrilled to be able to recognise these professionals for their contribution to the sector. Over the past six years SummitSkills has been greatly encouraged by the achievements of all winners at these awards. We have seen and admired many individuals’ accomplishments and have witnessed bursaries awarded to future industry leaders. Our determination to recognise and celebrate excellence is fundamental to us and as a sector we must continue to do so into the future. The individuals who won are the future for us all.”

Winners of the Awards for Excellence celebrated in style at a canapé reception and lunch before the awards ceremony, followed by a tour of WorldSkills London 2011, a truly remarkable event.  Simon Bartley, incoming president of WorldSkills International and a former SummitSkills Board member, closed the awards ceremony. He praised the winners of this year’s awards and explained the significance of WorldSkills London 2011.

The awards were presented by representatives from a range of organisations, including Ian Pattle (senior vice-president at the APHC), Di Johnston (immediate past president and skills ambassador at ECA) and Sarah Wicks (head of education and training at the HVCA).

 The awards included:
- Heating and Ventilating Operative of the Year – winner Joe Ogle
- Plumbing Operative of the Year – Tom King
- Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Operative of the Year – Shaun Bann
- Electrotechnical Operative of the Year – Adrian Canning
- Experienced Existing Worker of the Year (Mechanical) – Alasdair Duncan
- Experienced Existing Worker of the Year (Electrical) – Ian Hall-Edwards
- Technician Engineer of the Year – Lee Tabis
- The Happold (Trust) Bursary – Paul Fingland
- The Alfred Manly Management Award – Tom Howard
- Professional Engineer of the Year Award – Natasha Jones
- Environmental Excellence Award – Lee Summers

Neil Collishaw, Head of Competitions and Awards remarked, “We were delighted to hold our Awards for Excellence while WorldSkills was taking place. Three previous UK finalists of SummitSkills’ competitions represented Team UK: Stuart Miller from our SkillFRIDGE 2010 competition received a bronze medal; Chris Young, from 2009’s SkillELECTRIC competition received a medal for excellence and Shane Trevitt from 2010’s SkillPLUMB competition won a gold medal.”

For more information about the winners and images, please visit:

Search news