The Alliance of Sector Skills Councils

Apprenticeships in England

Intermediate apprenticeships usually last at least two years and apprentices work towards a Level 2 combined knowledge and competence qualification and functional skills. You may then continue at this level in your career or progress on to an advanced apprenticeship. 

Advanced Apprenticeships usually last at least two years if progressing from an intermediate apprenticeship but at least three years for new entrants. Apprentices work towards a Level 3 combined knowledge and competence qualification and functional skills at a higher level. 

Although each apprenticeship framework is specific to the particular industry, they are all made up of three parts:

  • NVQ Diploma Level Two or Three - the occupational NVQ Diplomas for the sector are the core of every framework.
  • Functional Skills - the skills everyone needs to be able to adapt constantly to changing work situations, including
         ICT (Information, communication and technology)
Get involved
Register now
Latest news